24-Hour Service: (303) 995-1492
CRS § 18-4-301 defines robbery as occurring when “a person knowingly takes anything of value from the person or presence of another by the use of force, threats, or intimidation.” The critical distinction here is that robbery involves the use of force, while theft does not.
There are three main robbery charges in Colorado, which include:
The penalties and punishments for a robbery charge vary depending on which offense you are convicted of. All of the charges have the possibility for prison sentences and fines, as well as a criminal record that could affect your ability to secure a job or housing later in life. These lasting consequences are why it is crucial to hire an experienced attorney to represent you and fight for your rights.
The punishments for the three levels of robbery include:
In Colorado, theft occurs when you knowingly take something that belongs to someone else. A person may also be accused of theft if they knowingly accepted the stolen property and failed to return it to the rightful owner. Instances can include shoplifting, passing bad checks, embezzlement and extortion.
Depending on the value of the stolen property, theft can be classified as a misdemeanor or a felony, each representing very different levels of severity and penalties.
BURGLARY & TRESPASS
Although the terms “burglary” and “trespassing” may sometimes be used
interchangeably, these are not the same charges. Burglary and trespass charges are
both property crimes. However, in some cases, burglary may be prosecuted as a
violent crime. Here’s a look at how these two charges compare:
Colorado’s state laws include first-degree, second-degree, and third-degree trespassing charges, as outlined in more detail below.
Colorado also separates burglary charges into three degrees of severity. Learn more about each degree of burglary below.
Colorado defines criminal mischief as occurring when an individual “knowingly damages the real or personal property of one or more other persons.” Criminal mischief does not include stealing; instead, this term refers to the breaking, damaging or defacing of another person’s property.
Acts that fall within this category can be felonies, misdemeanors or petty offenses, depending on the severity or value of property damage. Some common examples include:
The penalties for criminal mischief depend on the value of the property and the damage caused. See below for more details.
|Value of Damage||Colorado Penalties|
|> $300||Petty Offense:
|Between $300 and $1000||Class 2 Misdemeanor:
|Between $1000 and $2000||Class 1 Misdemeanor:
|Between $2000 and $5000||Class 6 Felony:
|Between $5000 and $20,000||Class 5 Felony:
|Between $20,000 and $100,000||Class 4 Felony:
|Between $100,000 and $1,000,000||Class 3 Felony:
|$1 million or more||Class 2 Felony:
The best approach to criminal mischief charges varies depending on the specifics of the individual case. However, here are some common defense strategies.
"*" indicates required fields
"*" indicates required fields